2023 Clean Transportation Rally in Richmond Award Winners Announced

April 10, 2023
VCC’s Alleyn Harned presents State Senator Scott Surovell with an award

On Thursday, April 6th, VCC honored numerous stakeholders for their outstanding work in clean transportation in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The awards ceremony was a part of the the annual “Rally in Richmond” event held at the Richmond Main Street Station. These individuals’ dedication to clean transportation and emissions reduction in Virginia was recognized through the awards below.

A full selection of photos from the event can be view at VCC’s Flickr account. All photos were courtesy of Robert Monroe with the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality.

Rural Champion

Keith Harless, Town Manager, Pennington Gap

Rural Infrastructure Champions

Delegate Rip Sullivan

Delegate Terry Kilgore

Clean Transit Champion

U.S. Representative Jennifer McClellan

Clean Air Public Service Award

Angela Conroy, Air Quality Planner, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality

Rock the Boat Award

Erick Pinzon, CEO, Electrified Marina

University Clean Transportation Leader

Michael Duffy, Transportation Operations and Fleet Manager, University of Virginia

Renewable Propane Innovator

Steve McCoy, VP, Blossman Gas

Renewable Fuel Champion

State Senator Scott Surovell

Innovative Fleet Champion

Charles Cramer, Director of Fleet Services, Lynchburg

Eco City Innovation Awards

Amy Posner, City of Alexandria

Josh Baker, City of Alexandria

Raymond Mui, City of Alexandria

Darryl Syler, City of Alexandria

Bill Eger, formerly of City of Alexandria

EV Infrastructure Champion

Andrew Hillman, Blink Charging

DRIVE Electric Virginia Award

Charles Gerena, Drive Electric RVA

Public Service Award

Chelsea Jenkins, Deputy Secretary of Commerce and Trade, Commonwealth of Virginia

EV Ambassador Awards

Steve Banashek

Humphrey Liu

Lee Williams

Clean School Bus Champion

Deborah Coles, Director of Transportation, Louisa County Public Schools